Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fanocle_gw

novice gardener in Fountain Hills

fanocle
10 years ago

Hello,

I am a novice gardener and new to fountain hills. Could anyone tell me please what type of soil this is. I am located on one of the slopes and not down at the bottom of the valley. The soil seems very rocky with lots of white hues to it. Is it alcaline? Salty?

What can I do to correct/ok improve it?

Thank you!

Comments (9)

• lazy_gardens
    10 years ago

Fountain Hills ... Your area is several degrees colder than the main part of Phoenix, which means you have to plant a bit more carefully.

You have the usual fast-draining rock-filled mountain side dirt. Yes, it's probably alkaline.

Don't bother trying to "improve it" ... it's perfectly good dirt for growing a lot of Arizona lovely native plants and plants from other arid regions.

Go to a nursery or Home Depot and get a copy of Sunset's Western Garden's book. It's our best sourcebook for what grows here.

Go to the Boyce-Thompson Arboretum near Superior and the Desert Botanical Gardens near the Phoenix Zoo. Look at all thge lovely plants you can grow here that can't be grown elsewhere.

• fanocle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks a lot!!! I should have explained myself better. Yes I want to grow mainly desert plants and I really like them, but since I love fruit I was thinking of planting some fruit trees...hence why I was wondering if I needed to improve the soil around those trees.

Thank you again!

• ChasingCenturies (Arizona 9b)
    10 years ago

Are you new to the Valley or just new to Fountain Hills? I'm a tried and true xeric gardener right here in Fountain Hills.

Google "caliche".

• Laura81
    10 years ago

I am another Fountain Hills gardener wannabe. Don't listen to GermanStar. He will get you hooked on agaves and you will spend your spare time searching all the garden centers around the area for new species. Very addictive! Good luck with your garden.