Return to the Arizona Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to plant onions and root vegetables

Posted by growingagreenthumb 9 (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 16, 11 at 11:37

Hello! I am a transplant from Northwestern Ohio and am not living in Tucson, I desperately miss fresh vegetable and fruit gardens and went a little crazy at a nursery yesterday. I have a large area in my back yard that I would like to plant bulb onions, green onions, carrots, parsnips, and turnips in. Does anyone have any advice to offer regarding when to plant these? The seed packets say 2-4 weeks before last frost but after 14 years I have learned that predicting frosts is an effort of madness.

I spoke with my dad and he said as long as lows are in the 50s planting these vegetables should be ok.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to plant onions and root vegetables

I'm a total newbie, but I have had carrots and spanish onions in the ground since November 1. I have a couple of bare patches where some things didn't survive the frost, and was just thinking of putting in more carrots. Since this is my first, year, I can't offer any advice as to whether any of this will work, but the folks at the nursery said carrots can be planted anytime during the winter, preferably NOT during frost (so far enough before the first frost to be established, or at least not during a really cold snap. Since we don't seem to be having one of those this month, I'd say go for it.

o

I think now is fine for planting onion transplants/bulbs, and in a month or so I'd plant carrots, though some folks plant them a lot earlier. It's a great time of year for Swiss chard, kale, spinach and lettuce. Here's a link to the Urban Farm's planting guide for the desert. They do a nice job breaking things out about when to plant seeds vs. transplants etc., and it has a timeline for harvesting.