Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jrhodo

Three bits of advice you would give me

jrhodo
13 years ago

I work as a horticulturist in Michigan. My daughter just bought her first house in Tucson, and she wants me to do her landscaping. I'm reading about your flora and growing conditions. I'm planning to use plants that need little or no water after becoming established.

My question is, what three things would you tell me that I don't know from gardening in Michigan? Plant suggestions? What mistakes have you made that I can learn from?

Thanks! Jean

Comments (8)

• Jeannie Cochell
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

1.) Full sun in Arizona is a lot hotter, stronger and longer than full sun in MI

2.) There's more gravel in our yards than on our roads.

3.) Oleanders are nearly impossible to remove after 2-3 years.

• pgde
    13 years ago

I would also add that our soil here is generally very alkaline rather than being acidic. Also, xeriscape plants generally don't like a lot of soil amendments (compost, etc). Here is a rather informative site about xeriscape plants, etc: http://amwua.org/landscape_plants_online.html

P.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Forget you ever knew anything about gardening. Forget every species you ever knew about. Get the Sunset Western Garden book as a guide. If they say it will grow in Zone 12, it will probably grow.(or find their website)

You have to keep track if "Chill days" for fruits varieties.

Get your plant lists from the local water company or the University of AZ. http://ag.arizona.edu/pubs/garden/mg/index.html

Water deep, water seldom after a plant is established.

Just because it's drought tolerant doesn't mean it doesn't need regular watering for the first year or two.

Mulch! And more Mulch! If she wants veggies, lasagna gardening is her friend.

Don't bother amending soils, plant natives and mulch them with locally produced compost.

Dig holes as deep as the root ball and a lot wider.