Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loretta1967

Florence Arizona

loretta1967
15 years ago

Hello,

I am looking for some information with regards to gardening in my particular area. I am totally new to gardening. So far I have managed to plant some trees and birds of paradise that have not died yet...and oh, a couple of rosemary bushes. But I am interested in planting vegetables and herbs.

I live outside Florence Arizona. A big problem I have is the soil. It is about 2 or 3 inches of really sandy rocky soil and then caliche. A good 1 to 2 feet of it after that.

What is the best way to setup a garden in this type of environment? Would raised beds work best? Also, the area is exposed 360 degrees to sun and winds (sometimes winds can reach well over 80 miles per hour).

Watering will come from not only rain water but my own well which contains a lot of hard water.

Suggestions are welcome!

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• petzold6596
    15 years ago

Welcome to the desert SW's soil. Your local cooperative extension service (U of A) will be able to help you. But to answer one of Qs, raised beds is the only answer for vegs. I would use a 2 foot high bed. You should check out the Square Foot forum.

• aztreelvr
    15 years ago

Hi Loretta,

Soil preparation is the key to growing vegetables, flowers and herbs here in the desert. I've always used the 'recipe' from the U of A Extension office and Master Gardeners which is 1/3 native soil, 1/3 sand or pumice, and 1/3 composted mulch. Most garden beds are 12 inches deep so this would mean a 4 inch layer of each, blended well with a shovel or rototiller.

Here is a link to the University of Arizona publication on vegetable gardening. You can find more resources at ag.arizona.edu/maricopa/garden/html/pubs/pubs.htm

I hope this helps.

Here is a link that might be useful: 10 Steps to a Successful Vegetable Garden

• dustbunni
    15 years ago