Return to the Arizona Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New homeowner, new to the valley, new (to me) plants

Posted by bagendek Arizona (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 5, 14 at 18:34

Hi everyone. I am new to home ownership and after growing up in the White Mountains of Arizona, I now own my first home in Gilbert and keeping things alive in the desert is all new to me. I would like to maintain my landscape myself, but I am not sure what kind of general maintenance my plants need and how often. If anyone can identify the plants I have and let me know any tips to care for them, I'd greatly appreciate it!

Plant 1: Bougainvillea

I have 6 of these. One on a trellis, two medium sized ones, and three smaller ones. The smaller ones got hit by the frost a couple of weeks ago and I'm assuming I will need to prune the dead parts. Should I wait until after the last freeze? How far back should I cut it?

Plant 2: Lantana

This one was hit the hardest by the freeze. Same questions about cutting it back - when and how far?

Plant 3: ???

I'm not sure what this is, and I've been pulling up those small plants/weeds around this one since the picture was taken. Any tips on controlling these weeds?

Plant 4: ???

This had little purple flowers on it until the freeze. My realtor identified it and told me it would grow into a hedge eventually (there are a couple of them under a window) but I didn't take note of what it was at the time.

Plant 5:

Again, is it safe to cut the dead parts off? Should I do it now or later?

Plant 6:

I have 4 or 5 of these grassy bushes against a wall in the back yard. Should I do anything with them this spring?

Thank you for any and all help and guidance! If you have any good materials for me to reference, I'd love to take a look at any of your recommendations.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New homeowner, new to the valley, new (to me) plants

Don't trim out dead from frost until you know we are done with freezing temps. That could be all the way in Feb.