Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
persiancowboy

what can I plant in 2 acre to profit from?

persiancowboy
12 years ago

I have approximately 2 acres next to my house that i like to use to make some profit. I have a well water and gray water that can be used. I like to either grow plants, flower, trees or fruit or other produce to resell. I am a retired engineer who love to learn more about growing plants & trees (hopefully organic way). I love to hear your recommendation.

Comments (20)

• hellbound
    12 years ago

how do you plan to sell it and i wish i had ur problem maybe try tomatoes and peppers and a mixture of other veggies in the spring maybe eggplants and okra and melons in the summertime. i'd try and contact some of the local small grow farmers at the farmers markets and see what they have and how they do it. summer squash can be a huge producer here in the spring as well....

• fabaceae_native
    12 years ago

Definitely go to some of the local farmers markets and see what is missing, then try to provide those unique items that appeal to you. Maybe it's cut flowers, dried herbs, or some non-standard fruits like pomegranate, mulberry, jujube, or prickly pear.

At the following website I counted 10 such markets in the Phoenix area:
    http://www.arizonafarmersmarkets.com/

I happen to have one of the best farmers markets in the country where I live, where you can find everything from honey, goat milk products, worm castings, buffalo meat and hides, home-baked breads, mushrooms, and willow baskets in addition to all the usual greens and everyday fruits and vegetables. I think the folks who do the best (some of them make their entire living off of this one market) are those who provide a consistent diversity of vegetables, or a large supply of one or two big items (apples or chiles, for example).

Hope this was helpful...

• lazy_gardens
    12 years ago