Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desertdance

What Edibles Grow for you in Sunset Zone 13?

I posted this in California because I live in the Palm Springs Valley, and it was suggested there that I post here. I share the same climate as those of you in Phoenix.

I truly do have zone jealousy!! We got the heat! We got the winds. We got voracious winds and rain in Summer AND Winter! We even almost get to freezing....... but not quite!

I'm a farmer at heart, and love to eat what I grow. I also love those fragrant bouquets. Soooooo, I do my best to tuck things in here.

I have a lot of walls with nothing on them, except for boganvillas. I'm thinking grape vines and wine. Climbing Roses intermingled.

I have 4 citrus, one fig, one pomegranite, and a couple guavas. The jury is out on how they will do. On order some gorgeous Dahlias. Just planted 6 Roses.

Would love to hear from you zone 13 people!

Comments (11)

• phoenixryan
    15 years ago

As far as edibles go, I have:

Grapefruit
    Lemon
    Nectarine
    Plum
    Peach
    Apricot
    Pomegranate
    Banana
    Grapes
    Strawberries
    Peppers
    Tomatoes
    and soon I'm adding Bluberries

If you want something to grow on a wall and bloom voraciously, try Lady Banks' Roses. They're much tougher and faster growing than traditional climbing roses.

Ryan

• thisisme
    15 years ago

I want a lot more but this is what I have so far.

12 Fig trees
    1 Peach tree
    1 Nectarine tree
    2 Asian Pear trees
    2 Orange trees
    3 Plum tress
    7 Tomato plants
    2 Hot Pepper plants
    1 Golden Dorsette Apple

If things go well and our house sells this summer and we are in a place with a nice yard I plan on adding....

Pomegranates
    Pear
    Peaches
    Plum
    Almonds
    Pecans
    Grapes
    Blackberries
    Apricot
    Blueberries
    Cherries
    Lime
    Lemon
    Mulberries
    Jujubes