Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dashygirl

seeds haven't sprouted

dashygirl
10 years ago

Hi all,
I am brand new to Arizona gardening (and gardening in general). First off, I live in a condo and so I have to use containers to garden. I ordered a bunch of heirloom seeds from a local place here in Phoenix and followed their instructions precisely as far as planting is concerned, and I also looked up the best planting times for my elevation for these seeds in the AZ Master Gardening Manual from U of A. Seemed like I was on the right track! I planted tomatoes, bush beans, lots of peppers and some summer squash and eggplant. It has been exactly 1 week and NONE of these little guys have sprouted yet! According to the reading I've done there should be little sprouts, right? Or maybe has the crappy weather the Valley had last week stunting the whole process?
Thanks in advance! I really want this to work!

Comments (12)

• MaryMcP Zone 8b - Phx AZ
    10 years ago

Are you keeping the soil moist? I use a misting spray bottle. Peppers take much longer but the tomatoes should be popping any day now. What's the temp of the soil? Needs to be about 80ð, I use a heat mat and start seeds in very small containers. The root zone likes to be a bit crowded until you plant out. HTH.

• JesseT
    10 years ago

Last year I had less than half of my seeds sprout and some took a few weeks. They were in ice cube trays with potting soil.

This year I planted maybe three or four times what I wanted and had nearly 100% germination, no damping off, and some seeds (the tiny little things like balm and chamomile) showed up in three days. I have given away a lot already.