Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scott85258

Best varieties of tomatoes for Spring in Phoenix

scott85258
14 years ago

Hello all,

I have two beds prepared for my basil and tomatoes. The beds are next to a wall and face east so they will get some afternoon shade. I have installed a drip system.

Can you suggest some tomato varieties that should succeed if planted as seedlings in mid-February? I'd like some small grape-sized tomatoes and large ones. Thanks for any advice on watering and soil prep too.

Scott in Scottsdale, Az.

Comments (7)

• nutcr0cker
    14 years ago

I am a newbie too but from searching this forums It has been my impression that any form of cherry tomatoes should do good in az. Other than that people had good success with Roma and the pink belgian tomato along with kellogs breakfast.
    People recommend staying away from early girl because the fruit tends to be really small

• mister_gin
    14 years ago

Cherry tomatoes have by far done the best for me. The larger tomatoes do okay, but I'm horrible at watering them so I usually have a bunch of cracked fruit. My Early Girls last year produced some pretty good size fruit that tasted good, but I had some cracking issues.

This year it's Big Beef and cherry varieties for me. If I had the room I'd pick up a Stupice plant from Lowes. This was on my short list to try, but I never got the seed. If my Yellow Pear seedling croaks then I may pick one up.

• antm0
    14 years ago