Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_jana

where can I buy heirloom tomats and organic veggie plants?

organic_jana
17 years ago

I am new to Phoenix and live in central Phoenix. I did not get my grow lights up and so I have nothing started....however I am three beds ready to go. I am new at AZ gardening but really excited to get going.

Any recommendation for nursuries that sell the unusual and organic plants? Last fall I found just the normal things in the nurseries here but I must confess to not knowing my way around much so I may just not know the hot spots.

I don't mind driving a bit to get what I want.

I would like tomats, and I think eggplant and squashes, cukes and maybe some okra. I am planting beans and by seed I am planting cayenne peppers. WIll those grow by seed here in AZ?

THank you.

Jana

Comments (11)

• tspagg
    17 years ago

Try Baker Nursery on 40th St and Osborn and Sun Environments on 101 and Frank Lloyd Wright. Also the Botanical Garden and the UofA Extension on 44th and Broadway in Tempe have sales where you can get some weird stuff every once in a while. Go to a meeting of the rare fruit growers. They give out cuttings and auction plants off at the end of the meetings.

• liliopsida
    17 years ago

Hi Jana,

If you feel like going for a drive, up here in Globe we have a lady who grows seedlings every year and sells out of her greenhouse. She has lots of different, unusual varieties of vegetables and herbs, especially tomatoes and peppers. There's an article about her with all the info at the link below.

In case you don't know, Globe is out highway 60 (Superstition Highway) about 80 miles east of Phoenix. It's a pretty drive once you get out of the valley.