Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grant_in_arizona

Hippeastrum striatum blooming in the garden

grant_in_arizona
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

Just for fun I thought I'd share some pics of a plant I've been growing for several years in my garden: Hippeastrum striatum. My plants are grown from seed from a friend's heirloom plant that has been shared through her family for generations. We helped ID her plant and she shared seeds as a thank you.

Anyway, I've been growing it in the ground and in pots for several years now. Whether in the ground or in pots they get winter sun and summer shade. They make a huuuuuuge flush of blooms in late winter, with occasional blooms all summer long. What's not to love?

The flowers are smaller than the big Dutch hybrid amaryllis, but they're my favorite color, orange, and they are very, very productive so they've become one of my favorites. The foliage is nice and narrow and evergreen too. So easy to keep happy. I hope you'll take a quick look and enjoy. I saw ten bloom stalks popping up this morning and I'm sure more are on their way. Here's the first bloom of the season.

{{gwi:390951}}

Happy gardening!

Grant

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden pics so far March 2012

Comments (12)

• Pagancat
    12 years ago

TEN??? OMG! I can hardly wait to see a picture of *that*!

So, supplemental watering? Winter only? Tell us all about it!

• grant_in_arizona
    Original Author
    12 years ago