Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyhmm

New to Az gardening

ladyhmm
14 years ago

Hi folks! I'm moving to Tucson,Az. from Oregon as soon as my home sells. I'm set up w/ chipper-compost tumbler & tiller. Going to a neighborhood type setting I wonder if the tiller would be overkill? Or if the tumbler would even be practical there. I make my own mulch from branch chippings & compost but am in question of how available product would be to warrant the chipper? Also-could someone point me to a good source book? I wasn't kidding when I said I was clueless!!

Comments (9)

• greyongray
    14 years ago

Hi, I'm an established AZ resident but only a year into gardening here. I think it depends on what you're going to grow, but if it's veggies or herbs you might want to do a raised-bed garden with all new soil. Our native soil would need a lot of improvement. You could till but would have to add stuff into it - I have heard numbers like "20% original soil only".

For the chipper and mulching, if you move into a house with established trees then you could surely make mulch from the prunings.

• jojosplants
    14 years ago

Hi Ladyhmm ,
    May I send an early welcome!

I am in Tucson.

Alot of what you use or garden, will depend on the size of yard.

My parents are out on the west side, on 5 acres of land. They have the compost tumbler and LOVE it, and dad just got a tiller at christmas and small green house.

I have never seen a bagged compost I like, so my parents share.. I give them my scraps and get compost in return. :)

The chipper?? pine bark mulch is all over here at Lowes and home Depot... fairly cheap.

Could you explain a little more as to why your not sure to bring these items? Im not sure i understand?

Do you already have an area of town picked out?

Are you worried the tiller would be too noisy?

People mow grass here...

JoJo

• buyorsell888
    14 years ago

Here are some online publications you might find useful.