Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missiongardens_gw

Tell Me About Harmful Insects in Phx

MissionGardens
13 years ago

I'm still new to gardening in this area, and am wondering about what insects to watch out for in the desert. I'm somewhat familiar with the general list of harmful insects, but clueless as to which ones survive in the desert.

Thanks!

Comments (24)

• Jeannie Cochell
    13 years ago

Harmful to ...? There's bees and wasps but they aren't harmful to plants. There's aphids, thrips and leafrollers which aren't welcome in my roses. Ants aren't welcome anywhere. All of them are food for beneficial insects and birds, though, so most of them are allowed in my gardens but not the house.

I don't like cicadas. They're noisy and the cats like to drag them in late at night and play with them.... in the dark, sometimes when I'm alone. Some folks have Palo Verde beetles which sound scary but I've lived down here for 25+ years and still haven't seen one. Of course, I don't have any Palo Verde trees so maybe that's why. I don't have scorpions, black widows, tarantulas, rattlesnakes or any of the other notorious desert dwellers but none of them are, technically, insects.
    What kind of insect are you expecting to find?

• tracydr
    13 years ago

White flies, stink bugs, horn worms, aphids, squash bugs, cut worms. I've actually had less bad bugs since I stopped using any type of bug spray or killer. I don't even use organic stuff except maybe soapy water. Mostly just IPM. And BT if indicated.

• mangledmind
    13 years ago

Black Widows, Scorpions, Brown Recluse

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Do you mean for gardening or for pets and humans?

• MissionGardens
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Sorry, i meant specifically to plants (i assumed that went unsaid on a gardening forum).

tracydr, can you elaborate on what IPM and BT are? I'm not familiar with these acronyms.

Thanks!

• greendesert
    13 years ago