Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roots3003

Citrus Noob...with questions.

roots3003
14 years ago

I'm coming into my second Summer here in AZ and am starting to get the hang out things. Homever, I am still a noob when it comes to growing Citrus. I have Grapefruit and Tangerine trees, and they both seem to be healthy and growing. I'm just not sure if I should be pruning off some of these braches, or pulling of some the fruit/flowers.

{{gwi:398528}}

{{gwi:398530}}

{{gwi:398532}}

{{gwi:398534}}

The first group of pics is of the Grapefruit tree. The open flower that you see was a a white ball, and it kept getting bigger so I though it was going to turn into a grapfruit?? But as you can see, it's just a flower. Is that normal? If so, where do they grapefruits come from? The second group of pics is the Tangerine, and it is covered in little balls that are turning into flowers. I'm not sure if i'm supposed to be trimming these or not. Any help would be appreciated.

{{gwi:398536}}

{{gwi:398538}}

{{gwi:398539}}

Comments (10)

• greendesert
    14 years ago

My advice would be to leave them alone for a while.
    Citrus do not naturally take a "tree form". Normally they are actually shrubs. There are differing opinions about pruning, but most say to just let it do its thing and only prune dead/diseased branches and maybe a little for shape. Some people remove what they call the "water spouts" branches that grow really fast straight up when they're overwatered.. They usually are full of greenery but no fruits. However I don't think even that's necessary. When your tree is a few years old, then it's probably a good thing to give it a light pruning from time to time, but I think citrus do just fine even if left alone.

It is a good idea to break off any suckers that come from below the graft union (close to soil level). those are from the rootstock and you don't want those to grow.

• tugbrethil
    14 years ago