Return to the Arizona Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Watering questions

Posted by roots3003 9 (roots3003@yahoo.com) on
Mon, Mar 2, 09 at 20:32

I'm new to outdoor gardening in this AZ heat so I have a couple watering questions. My irrigation system is not working, so I will be watering with a hose by laying it on the ground next to the plants.

I'm just wondering how often I should be wateriing using this method. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Here are ther plants I have:

queen palm (planted in November)
canary date palm(planted in December)
mexican fan plam(very small, planted in December)
some oleander bushes
agave
large jade plants(in pots)
rosemary
bird of paradise(planted in February)
spider plants(planted in Febryary)
madagascar dragon tree(not really an outdoors plant)
small grapefruit tree(planted in December)
umbrella tree(planted this month)
some cactus I found behind the house

all of the above plants get full southern exposure all day. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Watering questions

Hi Roots,

Gardening/landscaping here in the low desert is different than anywhere else in the country. Our soils are salty and our water is salty so plants that like acidic or neutral soils are very unhappy here.

The plants on your list look like they are pretty well adapted to this region. The key to watering will be to water deeply but infrequently (except your potted plants). It is always better to apply a large volume of water and then allow the soil to dry a bit before watering again. The objective is to keep the moisture in the soil profile for as long as possible. That's why watering deeply is important. It also pushes accumulated salts down below the root zone where they can't interfere with nutrient uptake and root function.