Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodlandspringshoa

Lantana questions/concerns & I'm a newbie

WoodlandSpringsHOA
13 years ago

Hello all!

I am new to the whole gardening thing, so please be patient.

I purchased a bunch of hanging potted Lantanas to decorate around a pool area. When I bought them the week before last, they looked pretty good and even through this past week they did fine. I was away for the weekend and found all but one with the flowers and leaves all shriveled up.

When I bought them, I specifically asked for some hanging plants that could last in the sun all day in the Phoenix Valley and Lantana was presented to me. The only shade the plants get would be in the evening as a building blocks the sun out for the last few hours of the day. The rest of the day they are in direct sun light. The hanging pots are a dark green, so (from what I found on here) the may be cooking all day long.

I tried searching for some other posts, but I was unsuccessful. So, my questions are these:

Is there any hope for these? Are there any suggested vitamins or fertilizers to get them back up and going? Are these actually good plants to remain in pots and hang out in the sun all day?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance for your input!!

Comments (11)

• azbookworm
    13 years ago

I am going to guess that it is a water issue? Hanging pots dry out pretty darn fast and we have had some warmer weather lately. Did you check the dirt? Water them every day or more depending on the soil / dirt/ moss or whatever you have the plants in.

From what I know, Lantanas are full sun plant. Low water tolerant. But they do like their water. Like everything else in the desert.

So...maybe they will recover with water.

Hope that helps.

• WoodlandSpringsHOA
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the reply. That's what I a hoping for as well....I guess time will tell
    :/

• greendesert
    13 years ago