Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsross_gw

Melons and Zuchs taking over

mrsross
12 years ago

Hello all -

I have a 5x5 raised bed garden. i have tomatoes that grew out of the cage and are sprawling everywhere. But my question is about my zuchs and cantaloupes. It looks like a wild jungle! Can i cut some of the zucchini leaves back? or will it ruin them? This is my first year with a successful garden, so i'm feeling my way out...My cantaloupes have a LOT of flowers...they are growing out of my bed onto the ground. Do i need to do anything with them? Thanks for helping!

Comments (11)

• Haname
    12 years ago

Melons and zucchini need lots of room. If you can, just let them ramble and enjoy them!

• mangledmind
    12 years ago

we prune the inner (older) leaves on our zucchini and squash ... but be stingy with the pruning, as nature provided this "protection" for a reason ... as soon as it's BLAZING hot these leaves help the plant retain moisture and provide cooling natural mulch ... as for your melons: sounds GREAT to me ... had one last season that took off about 15-20' in all directions ...

• thisisme
    12 years ago

Zucchini take a minimum of 3'X3' and 4'X4' is not uncommon. Next year you may want to plant in a corner of your bed so the leaves can spill out the sides. Melons tend to start out producing mostly male flowers. Therefore you are not likely to get many melons close to the base of the plant. Some people cut the vines but only after they have produced enough fruit for their liking. If you do it before then you are going to severely limit your fruit production. My melons and butternut squash are planted in a 3' wide raised bed. At this point the cantaloupe and butternut have already outgrown the beds by 8'-10'. I expect they will keep growing as will the watermelons and casaba. If you are really limited for space you should consider growing one of the Bush Melon varieties. There are several that grow on short vines.

• lazy_gardens
    12 years ago