Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike69o

Plumerias at Lowe's

If anyone likes plumerias, I just got home from Lowe's and they have some plumerias. There were about 20 or so.
I talk to the lady that brings them in and she said that most Lowe's would get some this week. May be worth checking.

I got four of them...any tips on how to take care of them. I was told that they do fine in our heat. Should I pot them in bigger pots or should I wait.

Love plumerias and I am ready to learn all about them. :)

Comments (7)

• newtoucan
    9 years ago

I started some from cuttings this year. I don't really know care wise, except for well draining soil.

• grant_in_arizona
    9 years ago

Thanks for sharing the information, Mike, that's generous of you.

I love plumerias too, as do several of our other members. I've been growing them for ten years here and love them. They adore our heat, although in mid summer they appreciate some afternoon shade. They will NOT tolerate a hard freeze, so keep that in mind. I had several in the ground for many years (far N. Scottsdale) but the awful winter of 2012-2013) killed them. The ones I have in pots I brought in for the frosty nights and they look great.

This past winter I didn't bring ANY of them indoors and they were totally fine of course. I wish all winters were like this last one, hah! My largest 'Celandine' has five branches and is about 6 feet tall. It's covered in flower buds so I'm excited! I've got some dwarf ones in pots too, plus several that I started from for-tourist cuttings from trips to Hawaii. They're fun to grow and the scent ('Celandine' is my favorite) is wonderful!

Lots of sun, warmth, food and water when they have leaves (again afternoon shade in summer keeps the leaves from getting bleached/scorched), and then NO water when they shed their leaves in autumn. No hard freezes.