Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grant_in_arizona

Echium: 'Pride of Madeira' in bloom

grant_in_arizona
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

I've been enjoying the beautiful blue blooms on this plant for over three months now, so I thought I'd share a couple of pictures of it. It's good old "pride of Maderia" (usually listed as Echium candicans) which I've been growing in my garden for three years. You see it all over southern California in bloom in late winter/early spring, so it's not super unusual at all, although I haven't seen many (any) in the Phoenix area long-term (just small ones for sale). I hope you'll take a look and enjoy the pics.

{{gwi:405410}}

{{gwi:405411}}

I bought it as a single small rosette of foliage, about 6 inches across, three years ago. I really didn't think it would survive our long hot summers, but with water twice a week in hot weather it's done really, really well and is now probably four feet tall and six feet across. I'm hoping it will set a bunch of seed so I'll have some to share. The individual flowers are small, each about the size of a lobelia bloom, but there are literally hundreds and hundreds of them for months, with each flower cluster expanding to one or two feet in height.

If you're growing it too with long term success, please share!

Take care,

Grant

Here is a link that might be useful: My little garden blog, couple of posts a month

Comments (8)

• grant_in_arizona
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Looks like it IS setting seeds, so I'm excited to see if I can plant them and get some babies. I took a few stem cuttings about a month ago and plopped them in a jar of water. They look as fresh and vigorous as the day I put them in the water, but no signs of roots. This is such a fun plant I need more, more more!

Take care,
    Grant

• xica_da_silva
    12 years ago

Looks great, Grant!

How much sunlight does he get? Full or partial? It likes kind of shrubby...does it get super-large?