Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
timcasita

Chinese Elm Trees dropping green leaves

timcasita
10 years ago

Hi all,

Long post with a lot of detail. Any help or insight would be appreciated. Some background. I am a landscape architect, so know a few things about trees, but am by no means an arborist. We have been in our house for about 5 years, and are in the process of renovating the front yard, so in the pictures, you will see that this past weekend, I cropped the grass short, added some sand to the low areas. We also had a ficus tree that had die back from the winter. (third time in five years, so I had it taken out). That will explain some of the pictures for you detectives out there.

I am concerned about the elm trees growing in my front yard. We have a mature elm that is about 40' tall and maybe as wide in the canopy, planted right in the center of our lawn. This past fall, we planted two new 24" box elms, 'truegreen'. They seemed to leaf out later than the older one this spring, but eventually did, and looked good.

About 3 weeks ago, we had been doing some work on the pool in the back yard, and i inadvertently left the filter on "backwash", which drains to our front yard. Overnight, it put half our pool in the front yard (10,000 gallons). Our yard used to get flood irrigation, so it didn't go anywhere. About a 4 days later, one of the small elms started dropping its leaves. This elm was at the backflow discharge, and the low point in the yard, where most of the water pooled.