Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sonorandaisy

Help Please! Does my DM Palo Verde have borers?

sonorandaisy
17 years ago

I am new to Arizona. Last summer we planted a 24" box Desert Museum Palo Verde tree. It has been doing beautifully, and seemed to be growing quite well.

Recently noticed some intermittant yellowing of leaves, all over the tree, so we took a sample into a couple of nurseries for advice. We were told the tree may need more water, adjust drips, etc. When checking the tree after several hours slow drip, I noticed a few worm-like creatures trying to escape the water at the base of the tree. I saw one that looked like a pretty good size caterpillar, and another that looked very small and thin- more worm-like. Kind of a light gray color with some darker marks. There were no other plants within the water basin area of the tree. The tree has gravel mulch.

Could these be beetle larvae? There weren't any caterpillars in the tree. They seems to be coming up from the earth under the gravel and trying to climb the tree trunk!!

Comments (3)

• aztreelvr
    17 years ago

If you are referring to the Palo Verde Borer Beetle the answer is no. These beetle larvae live inside the roots until they mature and then they emerge as adult beetles. (They are big and ugly). These larvae are called grubs and are a cream color generally with a brown headcap. They curl into a 'c' shape when disturbed. Caterpillars are the larvae of butterflies and would not be eating your tree.

Because your tree has been in the ground nearly a year you should only need to water deeply once every two to three weeks during the coming summer and less often next fall and winter. Applying about 70 - 90 gallons each time is ideal for a tree the size of yours.