Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_2867279

question for AZ succ/cacti growers

User
13 years ago

I'm really trying not to overwater my new succulent garden, and I'm religiously using my water meter. In the last week or so, everything has been registering dry within 48 hrs of a good soaking so I'm probably watering every other day. Is this typical for this time of year? What about monsoon weather? Should I anticipate rain and just not water if it's forecast? Even though it's 110?

btw - most plants are in the ground, I only have a few little ones in pots and they're getting water every other day. I have your typical newbie assortment of euphorbias, some echeverias and crassulas.

Also, is a morning spritz with the hose a good idea on these fiery days? I do not have any plants that freak out if they get water on their leaves (puh-leeze! I'm a rank amateur and in no way qualified for that kind of maintenance!). It's just so damn hot. . .

thanks!

Comments (11)

• jojosplants
    13 years ago

Hi ZZ..
    Where in AZ are you? 110 almost sounds like Phoenix..;) I'm in Tucson. Judging rain is tricky...They say with cactus and succulents, when i doubt, dont.:)

This time of year, I usually wait till the end of the day, and if they really need it, water light in the morning. You need to consider, that in the ground, it is not going to drain as well as containers.

First, I can tell you, Ive read tons here at GW that suggest the moisture meters are not that reliable. ;(

What kind of plants are you growing? I have tons of cactus and succulents in containers, and am only watering once a week if even that. It's been about 106 here and they are all doing just fine.

In ground is going to hold more moisture than my containers, and it sounds to me you may be watering too much.

Can you post pics of what you have growing?

JoJo

• User
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm in Mesa - a skosh warmer than Tucson, I believe.