Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
usha_gw

Heliconia

usha
18 years ago

Nursery man sold this to me as an african BOP. I think it is heliconia. Is anyone growing gingers/heliconias here. Would love to hear your experiences.

{{gwi:406800}}

Comments (14)

• hoku1
    18 years ago

Usha, you are correct. This is a dwarf haliconia. I don't grow them here, but I used to live in Hawaii and we grew them there. They were pretty easy to grow there. We just threw some water on them occasionally, but I dont' know about how they would do here. Virginia

• User
    18 years ago

I've been planting Heliconia for several years now. Unfortunately, I haven't had success growing them. Psittacorum "Lady Di" lasted the longest. I've been able to get Rostrata rhizomes to shoot several times, then after two leaves, they turn brown and die off. Their requirements are supposed to be similar to bananas, except they prefer some shade from the Arizona sun.

My mistakes so far are:
    1. Planting them in un-amended, nitrogen deficient, dense clay soil.
    2. Planting them in full sun.
    3. Growing them indoors with too little light.
    4. Planting them in regular potting soil that stayed wet for two weeks after watering them.
    5. Overwatering
    6. Underwatering.

I've just planted another rostrata in amended soil shaded from late afternoon sun. We'll see how it goes. Don't be discouraged by my experiences, difficult plants have been easy for me to grow and common, easy plants have been difficult. Good luck and please let us know how they do.

Here is a link that might be useful: Desert Tropical page on Heliconia

• tiareman
    18 years ago

ah yes, common errors.

My method is to add alot of perlite to a good potting soil- that helps it drain and not sog up so much.

Heliconias generally grow naturally in aerated soil, that drains pretty fast, but is also rich.