Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phxmtngirl

Sunflowers

phxmtngirl
18 years ago

Hi, I'm new at growing sunflowers, and need some help please. I purchased "Perry Morse" Mammoth Sunflower seeds. I planted them according to directions in early March. They are rather tall now, but the heads are all drooping.

My questions are:

1. Should I tie the heads to the stakes? If so, how tight?

2. How much water should they be getting now?

3. Bugs..... I have been trying to keep the bugs off of them, but am having trouble. I would say that I have on 3 sets of plants at least half of the bottom leaves are chewed through.

4. When will I know when their done?

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated. I live on the West side of town (Litchfield Park).

Thank you

Joy

Comments (15)

• Pagancat
    18 years ago

Hi Joy - I haven't seen you on the forum before, welcome!

I'll take on #4. Sunflowers act much like other flowers, just at a larger scale. It will slowly dry out, loosing it's petals and leaves, until it is a brown stalk with a dried head on top. Now, it's up to you what you do with the seeds - if you liked the plant, definitely take a few out to plant for next time. You might also want some for eating, although unless you like splitting the shells with your teeth they're not easily removed. You can also leave the head in place and allow the birds to come and feast - you'll make some good (and pretty!) friends for a good amount of time.

Sunflowers have been said to be plantable at just about any time of the year, so if you're going to let them go au natural and just dry up, you might want to plant seeds at intervals of a week or so, so there's always at least a couple blooming. The Cooperative Extension disagrees; they say to stop putting seeds in after August until the end of January - with a 90 day window to blooming.

HTH, welcome again!

• phxmtngirl
    Original Author
    18 years ago