Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmkelly

Converting raised flower bed by previous owner, compost bin and.

carmkelly
16 years ago

Hello, help please? The flower bed is about 30 ft long with four established "bushes." It is landscaped with rocks. I've been longing to veggie garden for 23 years so dying to give this a try.

I dug down with a trowel. I think there are 3 inches worth of these rocks. I could use a pick axe the ground is so hard.

I tried another flower bed close to the house. 3 inches down is a palpable clay. The ground is damp near the house. I think the sprinkler system nearby needs help.

I look at bags of soil at Home Depot. There is one that "improves" the clay? What should I get to mix with the clay?

Also part of the raised flower bed is in direct sun. At the nursery (not Home Depot) they said, yep, it's time to plant corn, cantaloupe, cukes, and squash. In direct sun??? I asked. Yep.

I was thinking of putting tomato starters in the filtered shade since the "bushes" love it there and I feel I am getting a late start. Tomatos love sun, but do I dare put them in the direct Arizona sun, especially this late in the year?

Thanks for any help. p.s. I hope to try to be organic.

Okay, last, where can I find models of composters? This is our first house and my husband is enjoying the garage... and tools. Have any of you built a compost pile or rather a bin?

Comments (7)

• bucks
    16 years ago