Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rhair_gw

Stressed Agaves

rhair
13 years ago

Hello!! New forum member here. I can't believe all the great info on this forum!!

I've got a problem I'm hoping somebody can help me with. I'm new to Arizona and love the look of cacti and succulents but have so much to learn!! I planted two Agave Americana in mid-May in pots. Now it appears the pedals(?) are closing up. Is it the heat? I've been giving them a good drink once a week since temps have gotten above 100. Is that too much?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Comments (11)

• MaryMcP Zone 8b - Phx AZ
    13 years ago

I would back way off on the watering. Cacti like it dry, dry, dry when they are rooting. I'm no expert on this subect and hope someone else wanders in to give more details, that's just what I've been told in the past when getting cactus pups from someone.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

They are very susceptible to root rot if they are watered too often, or too soon after planting.

Take them out of the pots, hose the dirt off the roots and put them in the shade or in a box in your house. Clip any rotted roots off, making the cuts in white, healthy root tissue.

Let them dry out for a couple of days, then plant them in DRY potting mix meant for succulents, or a mic of 1/3 to 1/2 sand and ordinary potting mix.

DO NOT WATER THEM YET. Keep the pots in the shade for a week or so, then throughly soak the pot by dunking it until the bubbles stop coming out.

Wait until the pot is dry, then dunk it again. Keep them in the shade until they start growing again.

Even succulents have a hard time in the sun in pots ... their roots have no refuge from the heat like they would in the ground. When I had potted plants, I used double pots - the plant in its pot inside one that was several inches larger. That layer of air helps shade the roots. You can also use pot cluster, with low spreading sun-lovers in front of the taller pots to shade them.