Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kinaz_gw

Have you grown mangos, guava, cherry trees?

kinaz
13 years ago

Hi, all

I didn't want to repeat this question so I did a search and saw that similar posting were last done in 2007.

Has anyone Successfully grown these tropical trees in the Phoenix heat? If so, did you use a mister system for the summer months? Is the biggest issue keeping the soil pH balanced?

I'm brand new to gardening...Eeek!! :-)

Thanks,

Karen

Comments (20)

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Check out http://www.tropicamango.com/welcome.html They are the local experts.

And http://desert-tropicals.com/ has a good listing of what has been grown here.

Cherries (the common varieties) don't survive the heat and dry air here. They are not a tropical fruit, they are a temperate climate fruit.

• phxplantaddict
    13 years ago

We grow surnam cherry, guava and mango. ABSOLUTELY DO NOT USE A MISTER! All the junk in our water will build up on the leaves and clog the pores. Our soil is junk so it needs a bit of digging. I make my own mixture to put in the ground. Location in yard and sun exposure are also important. Be cautious of asking nurserys for advice, the answers are usually slanted towards whatever they sell will grow with no work.

• nutcr0cker
    13 years ago

I am trying to grow a mango from seed, if that counts :)
    From what I've researched mangoes do require slightly non compacted soil with PH of 6.5(ideal) for optimal growth. In tropics the mango tree can be anywhere from 15ft to 30 ft whereas in AZ they max out at 15-18 ft. if it is worth the effort? depends on you. fruits are also small with low yeild. Guavas do just fine. Cherries would have the same issue as the mangoes.(excessive heat and very high PH)
    If you are truly wanting to grow a mango tree why not use container method( Tapia/AL's 5-1-1 mix) for 2-3 years then replace it back in soil.