Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karlee_babe

Newbie! HELP!!

Karlee.Babe
11 years ago

Hey all,

I just wanted to drop in and say hi. I am an EXTREME novice to gardening. The only type of gardening I've done is watering plants while house sitting so basically none, lol.

Anyway, I live in downtown Phoenix in one of the highrise condos. There's not much room for an actual garden, but I would like to have some flowers etc out on the patio. Our patio gets a lot of sun throughout the day so I want to make sure I'm starting out right. I've been told and have seen online that plants such as Moss Rose, Lantana, and Vinca are all pretty good in full sun and are supposedly better choices for beginner gardeners. Besides that, I'm thinking maybe a few small cacti and succulents (in different containers from the flowers, of course). I'm not sure whether I am well informed or not so hopefully someone can help!

ANY help will be welcomed and appreciated! Thanks!

Comments (9)

• tomatofreak
    11 years ago

Welcome! First things first: Is this a ground level patio or a balcony? What direction does it face, E,W,N,S? Is it mostly in sun or shade? It all makes a big difference in what you choose. About this time of year, "full sun" usually means a quick death. Give us some answers and I'm sure you'll get lots of suggestions.

• grant_in_arizona
    11 years ago

Welcome to the forum. We hope you'll post often. There are tons of great plants that do well in containers, so you do have a lot of options. Lantanas are great for sunny spots, and in containers especially if you want a compact growing type. It would be good to start slowly at this time of year since it's our most challenging season, especially for container plants, like tomato mentioned. I'd test drive some lantanas and vincas if I couldn't wait. Don't forget to use good quality "container potting soil" for your containers.