Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lee_tucson

Anyone growing Plumeria in the ground?

lee_tucson
18 years ago

I know they're very border line here in Tucson, but there are some in the ground here. I know of one in a neighborhood off Oracle, there are some larger ones at the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and then there a nice one at the U of A.

Anyone else trying them in the ground?

Plumeria at the U of A.

{{gwi:409427}}

Thanks,

Lee

Comments (43)

• tomatofreak
    18 years ago

My 'sticklings' are still in pots and I can only dream of the day when one of them will look like that! Maybe Detrick will weigh in; he's in Tucson.

• magnetogram
    18 years ago

hey lee,

where is the plumeria at the ua? oracle? i haven't been at the desert museum in quite sometime. i'll have to get over there and check that one out. there is also one at tohono chul.

i've been growing them since 2001 and i've yet to grow one in the ground. the closet i've come to that is plunging the pots in the ground. i plan to try growing one in the ground next year. our winter can be harsh! that's my only concern. i've seen many tips on the tohono chul tree that die back in the winter. it's worth a try though. eventually mine will be too large to bring inside. my tallest stands at 7' in a 10-gal pot.

do you have pics of yours? here is a pic of mine from 6/7/05. they are fully leafed out now five have inflos. i'm having problems with the aztec gold. the buds get to the point where they get to heaving right before they are about to open. then they fall off partially open. i still haven't figured out this mystery.

detrick

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:409426}}

• User
    18 years ago

Wow Detrick! That's quite a collection, they look awesome!

Lynn

• Garden_trolip
    18 years ago

I've had one in the ground for over a year now. It is planted under my Brugmansia, so it is sheltered from the cold in the Winter. It is doing realy well :)

• judy_b
    18 years ago

Hi Detrick,