Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lislariviere

Memorial Jacaranda Tree - please help

lislariviere
9 years ago

Hi there, this is my first time posting. My 20 year old son was killed last year by a drunk driver and I opted to have a jacaranda tree grown from his ashes. A friend that cares for plants brought it from the seed stage up to about this year in Prescott (cooler) and I brought it home 2 months ago. Since I got it home the tree has lost all of the leaves on top and it seems to be spreading downward. I first kept it under my patio out from the heat worried that it would be hard coming to the warmer temp, then it started to drop leaves so I thought maybe it was still too hot and brought it indoors under my big picture window, it didn't stop dropping so I thought maybe it needed more sun and yet to stay cool so I put it in an afternoon facing spot on my porch and it just lost the next level of leaves... I'm freaked out. This tree is more than precious to me, I'm new at doing anything like this and I don't know what to do. The bottom seems to be fairly healthy but the new little buds are starting to dry up too. I've never posted on here but saw the forum and am praying you can help tell me what's happening and how to stop it from dropping it's sweet leaves. It's in a self watering pot. I shared one picture. there are no leaves from about 1/3 up (the others are the tree behind it) If you need more and will tell me how to post more than one I'm happy to do so. and I'm so grateful for your help in advance. Thank you.

Comments (4)

• lislariviere
    Original Author
    9 years ago

i figured out how to post more pictures. Here you go. This is the latest casualty

• lislariviere
    Original Author
    9 years ago

if you zoom in you can see how it starts drying at the edges and then works towards the stem then eventually the whole limb falls off. Thank you again.

• paran3rd
    9 years ago