Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiredmamaof5

Vegetable gardening in AZ in summer???

tiredmamaof5
13 years ago

I have some experience in gardening and I'm new to AZ. I started square foot gardening with raised garden beds last Feb. I'm still trying to adjust to this climate and just when I think everything needs water then it looks like I've overwatered. My garden produced some, not as much as I had hoped. But now it is August and even though everything is still alive, there is less flowering and not any producing. I'm thinking the heat is just way too intense. I put an umbrella over my strawberries and now they are just dying completely.

I'm hoping that I will be able to have a good fall crop with this climate. But I think August is still way to hot to start planting. I would appreciate any shared experiences and advice for gardening in AZ.

Comments (9)

• kingkongos
    13 years ago

Strawberries are difficult ones to grow and keep alive through our hot summers. 2 varieties, Sequoia and Chandler seem to do the best here. Heavy mulch, good water, and shade cloth should get them through the summer.

Gardening in Arizona (phoenix area) is all about timing in my opinion. You have to start your tomatoes/peppers/eggplants early and get them in the ground in feb/march or the heat creeps up fast. Pollination then becomes virtually impossible. Certain vegetables absolutely thrive here in the summer though with some care...cantaloupe, okra, basil to name a few.

For a fall/winter garden I will start my greens indoors in early to mid September and then transplant in October. I've found it to be too hot any earlier. I did plant some squash/beans in late July and they are doing well. It's a little late right now to start a fall crop of say tomatoes or winter squash but it's probably ok to try some early producing beans and summer squash.