Return to the Arizona Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Time to take Plumeria cuttings?

Posted by azmom (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 10, 14 at 16:55

My two Plumerias are over grown with lots of "Y" branches. They are blooming none stop.

Can I take cuttings from Plumeria now in our hot dry AZ August weather?

If I cannot, how long should I wait?

If I can,
1. do I need to dry the cutting out first as some instructions I read from internet?
2. or Can I plant them right away as some instructions I read from internet?
3. Can I take a very long branch and cut it into two or 3 cuttings? I have not find any answer for this question.

Any warnings and suggestions are so welcome, since I have never done this before.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Time to take Plumeria cuttings?

I wait for plumeria to callous over before planting out. You can take cuttings anytime but it wouldn't it be better for the plant to do it when it's dormant if you don't need the cutting right away. I've taken at both times, but from big plumeria trees in a tropical environment. Many plants are already stressed in the heat, why add to it. Yes you can cut the cutting in multiple pieces. Get a marker and mark which way is up because it's easy to get mixed up especially for the lucky person that gets the cutting.

o

Hi Toucan, Thank you so much for the answers.

Yes, it makes sense to wait until out of dormant. May I ask when is the planting/growing season for Plumeria in AZ?

Mine are in pots, under the patio, get water as often as they need. Both grow and flower. I cannot tell when Plumerias in AZ are in dormant.

o

Dormant season in a non-dormant or dormant plant refers to January in Maricopa Co. Everything slows down when it is cold and days are short.

Containers certainly makes them easier to protect in the winter.

http://www.tropicamango.com/plumeria.html

http://www.paliplumies.com/plumerias.html

Here is a link that might be useful: AZ Plumeria Society!

o