Return to the Arizona Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Heat Stress

Posted by killdozer77 Phoenix (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 9, 09 at 17:16

I have been gardening here in Phoenix for several years and have had some success. But I still haven't figured out how to deal with the intense summer heat. Every summer when the heat gets real bad (above 105) a lot of my plants get knocked back hard. I have a grapefruit tree (about four feet tall) that grows very well all year round and then just gets hammered in the high heat, leaves shrivel up and die. The same thing happens to my bower vine. any suggestions on how to deal with the extreme heat?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Heat Stress

Build a shade structure over them. Little more water

o

We propagate and grow out citrus and deciduous fruit trees, along with some other odd and rare plants, we've always had the best results with Anti-Stress 550. It's done so well we became a dealer.

o

Better watering schedule.

More, deeper, waterings.

What is your current schedule od watering, and how do you adapt it for higher heat?

o

Lazygardens, currently I have 4 2gph drip heads on the grapefruit tree. During the summer they run twice a week for half an hour and once a week for just over an hour.

o

Turtle, that Anti-stress sounds really interesting. I did a quick search online. Can you share more about what you use it on etc? It sounds like an interesting product!

Killdozer, good luck with your plants. My young citrus always get zapped during blast furnace summers but eventually grow out of it. I like everyone's suggestions about shade cloth and deeper watering. Let us know what adjustments you make and how they work out.

Take care all,
Grant

o

Right now your grapefruit tree is getting 16 gallons of water per week. While this quantity may be OK, I think your application could be adjusted a bit.