Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brownthumbgirl

Orange Cape Honeysuckle

brownthumbgirl
17 years ago

I am very new to gardening and my very nice neighbor brought me 3 good sized Orange Cape Honeysuckle to plant along my chainlink fence for privacy in the backyard. I would like to plant them all around the entire backyard. I do have a potbelly pig, so are these poisonous? Also would I be making a mistake? Would they consume my entire yard? Are they fragrant? My fence is only about 4 ft. tall but I was hoping I could let them grow taller. So far the 3 that she gave me were planted 4ft apart. To close? To far? Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments (10)

• lazy_gardens
    17 years ago

Not poisonous ... but WAY too close together.

They can spread 6-8 feet both ways along a fence easily, and if unpruned, even farther.

• james_in_rioverde
    17 years ago

Pasted this from a post a while back, thought it might help.

It sounds like you are looking for something that won't get taller than say 4 feet and bloom nearly year long. Here are my suggestions which are easy to grow, require little maintenance if watered correctly and will take your full sun exposure.
    Red Bird of Paradise (Caesalpinia pulcherrima) - red/orange flowers from late spring to fall. Requires annual pruning.
    Baja Fairy Duster (Calliandra californica) - red 'puffball' type floers nearly all year. No pruning required.
    Black Dalea (Dalea frutescens) - clusters of lavendar flowers in fall.
    Brittlebush (Encelia farinosa) - silver gray leaves, yellow daisy flowers from winter to spring.
    Red Eremophila (Eremophila maculata) - one cultivar is called "Valentine" but all have red tubular flowers from late winter to spring.
    Violet Silverleaf (Leucophyllum candidum) this 'Texas sage' stays about 3 feet tall with silver foliage and deep violet flowers periodically from summer to fall.