Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marie5_gw

Clematis In Phoenix?

marie5
18 years ago

I am new to gardening. I just picked up the habit in the last year or so. I am obsessed with the Clematis vine and wonder if anyone has tried to grow it here is Phoenix. I am in the Southwest Valley out by PIR. I believe I am considered zone 9b

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

Comments (11)

• Garden_trolip
    18 years ago

Yes you can! They're a little tough tho, I accidently had success with this one. It is shaded, gets very early a.m. light. From what I understand it is imperative that the roots stay cool. The 1st year was bad and it did nothing, this year it re-emerged and bloomed! Supposedly the 3rd year is supposed to be tremendous.
    {{gwi:421538}}

• marie5
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you for the reply. Did you start it from seed or a container plant? Was there anything special other than light shade? Yours is beautiful!

• Garden_trolip
    18 years ago

I bought it in the Spring @ Lowes. It was a tiny plant in a 4" pot.

• User
    18 years ago

Very inspiring!

• judy_b
    18 years ago

Yes, Garden trolip is an inspiration to all who aspire to a colorful jungle.:-)Barb of the Jungle.

• Carrie_AZ
    18 years ago

I also grow a Clematis. I have to cover mine with a screen cover so that the top of the plant is not in the sun in the heat of the summer otherwise it will burn. I just took down the screening so that the top of the clemitis can get some sunshine now that it is cooling down. Mine does just fine, I give it lots of mulch to keep the roots cool. Right now it looks really good nice green leaves and it should be blooming any day now. Mine does go dormant in Jan Dec Feb when it gets real cold, but in the spring it comes back with lots of blooms and they are big. It really does not have chance to get really big because of the short growing season it has here in the desert, but it is a nice plant and it is doing fine.
    Carrie

• RODICA