Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mapgal

Non-grass lawn options?

mapgal
17 years ago

I am an AZ newbie (from midwest) so I just don't know a lot about the AZ landscape. We are building a home and I am planning the yard. Most of it I hope to garden in but I do want an area (about 15x45) for recreation such as lawn bowling, frisbee, etc. I really want to xeriscape and want to avoid grass. What are my choices? Is decomposed granite the best choice? Can you actually sit on it, play games on it, etc? Are there other xeriscape options that provide a nice surface for playing?

Comments (12)

• port_a_bella
    17 years ago

the newest synthetic lawns are awesome. they're kid and pet friendly too... there's a couple diffrent retailers out here who specialize in synthetic lawns. i know one of the is call synlawn. good luck

kim

• aztreelvr
    17 years ago

Another option for a recreational area would be shredded mulch. It's used under playground equipment and creates a soft yet firm cushion to walk on and is even suitable for wheelchairs.

For help planning your yard, ask for the free brochures that your city water conservation office provides. This includes the Xeriscape Design Guide, Landscape Plants for the Arizona Desert, and Landscape Watering by the Numbers. Here's a link where you can access your city.

Here is a link that might be useful: Landscape publications

• port_a_bella
    17 years ago

i've heard that white clover can be used, in place of grass. does anyone know it white clover goes dormant out here? what are their water needs?

*kim*

• azamigo
    17 years ago