Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hemolymph

Can you grow vegetables in Arizona?

hemolymph
16 years ago

Hi there, I am in zone 9. I am just wondering if it is possible to grow vegetables in Arizona.. and what vegetables do well. I am new to gardening and I am looking for vegetables I can grow in pots or planters as I only have a patio.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments (19)

• Jeannie Cochell
    16 years ago

Yes, you can grow several different types of veggies here. Personally, I grow tomatoes, peppers and okra in containers. Mostly because I fear they'd take over the yard if given a ground spot of their own.

Friends and neighbors grow onions, radishes, sweet peppers, squash and lots of herbs. I haven't met anyone successfully growing carrots or sweet corn here in the city. Lettuces are often sold as container plants.

• growingup
    16 years ago

This question is a bit funny to me as I have grown almost everything common. Watermelon (which were awesome), pumpkin, basil, corn, cucumbers, green onion in the summer. Now, I have basil (still), green bell peppers, tomatos, pole beans, broccoli, cabbage, radish, okra, mustard greens, eggplant, artichokes, brussel sprouts. You can grow almost anything here. Actually, this climate is awesome because we can grow things year around. I live in Tucson so that may change things a bit, but I have had an awesome turn out. I find that things that stunted in the summer (mainly my artichoke and tomatos) are doing great now with the semi warm days and cool nights.

• jimdaz
    16 years ago

You can grow a lot of vegetables in the Arizona desert. The best guide I have found is from the U of A, Maricopa County Extension Office.

Here is a link that might be useful: Vegetable Planting Guide Maricopa County

• bubba33
    16 years ago

There are some books on the subject, sorry I cant remember the names. Try a bookstore or even ebay. You can grow many vegetables here. Good luck

• planitl
    16 years ago