Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sbaltmanis_gw

Help with starting a garden

sbaltmanis
11 years ago

I stumbled upon this forum and am hoping I can find some help here. I'm new to gardening, but am really hoping to start growing some vegetables for my family.

We hired a friend of a friend who used to own a landscaping business to re-do our backyard, and as part of the deal he was going to create a garden space, help me plant it and teach me what to do. Unfortunately he skipped town before actually planting anything!! I now have a space set aside, with water lines run to it and nothing in it!!

But in doing research trying to figure out what to plant I'm starting to wonder if he set aside a horrible place for a garden and if it will work. It is in the southeast corner of our block wall enclosed yard with an orange tree to the north and a huge lemon tree just west. Between those trees and a huge tree in our neighbors yard it gets ZERO direct sunlight this time of year. Looking through pictures of our yard from lats summer the angle of sun allow very little shade for virtually the whole day during the hot months.

Between the shady winter, sunny summer and tree roots taking water, am I going to be able to grown anything there?

My husband thinks I should give it a shot since we already have water run there, and I'm tempted to do so...but I"m afraid I"m just going to be spinning my wheels!

If I do plant, what is best to do in those conditions? Or am I better off just turning it into a play space for my kids and building a raised planter elsewhere in our yard?

I appreciate any tips or advice!!

Comments (5)

• tomatofreak
    11 years ago