Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glendale_gardener

What is this? Chitalpa tree issue (help please :)

glendale_gardener
10 years ago

Hello all and Happy Thanksgiving Eve.

I'm hoping one of you wise, experienced gardeners can bestow upon me some of your hard earned wisdom :) We have a new Chitalpa planted this fall. Yesterday I saw this (see pict) on the leaves.

I also noticed a similar issue on the leaflets of our palms, but it covers the entire leaflet, almost like a hard water stain.

Could this be the result of overwatering? Or white flies (I found info online that seemed (from my novice eyes) to possibly point to this.

I'm new to a lot of aspects of gardening (I LOVE plants, but I've mostly lived with established, desert/native plants and focused on either house plants, "accent plantings", or container gardening as my hobby). I don't have much experience with garden pests/diseases or being able to identify these types of issues, so I thank you in advance for your help/thoughts/wisdom.

Thank you,

GG

Comments (10)

• judy_b
    10 years ago

It looks like it might be mealy-bugs. They're a scale insect. You can do a google search for info on how to treat a heavy infestation. I used alcohol when I found them, just touched them with an alcohol-soaked swab but that would be time consuming for other than occasional ones.

• glendale_gardener
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you judy b for the response. Hmmm, some of the pictures and info about mealybugs seem close, but I haven't seen any actual bugs so its hard to identify.

Here is an image of our palms (definitely seems is a scale issue and some of the "white stuff" looks a little fluffy, but more scaly over all. I'll upload another picture of the tree. The white 'stuff' is covering the veins, and it looks like the vein has brown spots under the white.