Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amijo_gw

seeking advice on tree planting

amijo
12 years ago

Our daughter purchased a home in Phoenix. The yard has been desert for years and is hard and dry. She wants to plant

citrus trees and we'd like advice on how to prepare the soil for citrus trees. We want to plant them before the hot weather arrives again. Thanks.

Comments (7)

• ra
    12 years ago

great time to plant right now since we just had rain in a past few days to loosen up the soil a bit.

I'm no expert on citrus but I think citrus trees can thrive on our native soil here. But I would add some organic material in the soil and mulch over it.

• aztreelvr
    12 years ago

Planting standards developed by the University of Arizona will get your citrus trees off to a good start. This time of year you will need to protect them from frosts and freezing temperatures by wrapping the trunk with cloth, cardboard or burlap and covering the entire tree (all the way to the ground) with a sheet or frost cloth (never plastic).

The following steps should bring you planting success.

1. Apply water to the area where you will be planting several days ahead of time. This will make digging much easier. The soil should be moist but not wet and should not stick to your shovel or garden fork. As raimeiken mentioned our soil may be moist enough right now due to recent rains.

2)Till or loosen soil 4-5 times the diameter and no deeper than the rootball. Roots that absorb water and nutrients will grow rapidly in this area so your tree can establish quickly.

3) Remove soil in the center to create a hole twice as wide but only as deep as the rootball. This prevents sinking which can bury the stem or trunk. The bottom of the hole should be flat.

4) Check drainage by filling the hole with water. If water can penetrate into the soil, so can plant roots. If water has not drained in 24 hours, a chimney can be added for drainage. (see details in http://cals.arizona.edu/pubs/garden/az1022.pdf)