Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
natal_gw

Suggestions for south Louisiana clumping bamboo?

natal
17 years ago

I'd like to line about a 20' run of wood fence with clumping bamboo that will eventually reach a height of 10-12 feet. I love the look of B. multiplex Golden Goddess, but wonder if it would get tall enough.

Suggestions, please.

Comments (8)

• kentuck_8b
    17 years ago

Golden Goddess is listed to grow to about 10 feet tall.

My Golden Goddess grows to over 16 feet in height. I'd have to measure to get an exact height, but it is thick up to about 10 or 12 feet from the ground. One reason may be that it gets some shade in the Summer and not full sun.

Environment plays a large part on how tall and large a bamboo plant will grow.

Good Luck

Kt

• natal
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Kt, since I'm a complete novice, please bear with me. Up until a few months ago I was one of those who thought all bamboo was invasive. Had never heard of the clumping variety.

A year and a half ago we cut down six 70' tall pines along our rear property line. Three had been struck by lightning and the others were earmarked to come down for construction of a workshop/garden shed. Needless to say their loss changed the dynamics of our small city yard. It's the area where the pines once grew that I'd like to plant the bamboo. It gets full sun morning till mid-afternoon. Last year I amended the soil with compost, but need to bring in a load of additional soil this year to correct a drainage problem.

What would you suggest to provide the best growing conditions? Did you have any trouble finding Golden Goddess? From what I've read so far it looks like March would be the optimum time to plant. Is that right?

• kentuck_8b
    17 years ago