Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cousinfloyd

complete newbie interested in useful bamboo

cousinfloyd
11 years ago

My question may be too broad to answer here, but maybe you all can point me to some useful information for beginners. How can the kinds of bamboo that would grow well in zone 7 North Carolina find low-tech uses on a small farm/homestead? I've wondered about garden stakes, maybe fencing applications, basketry, livestock fodder, various small construction uses... I have read some overview articles, but I'd like to take the next step and hear from people that are actually growing bamboo for their own uses (and which particular species are suitable for which uses). Thanks!
Eric

Comments (11)

• NJBamboo
    11 years ago

Bamboo can become a very useful and sustainable asset on a farm. For garden stakes I recommend Japanese arrow bamboo or Pseudosasa japonica. It is cold hardy to -10F and it's mature cane diameter is about .8 inches. It will grow to an average height of 15ft and creates a great thick windbreak. Slightly slower spreader then other bamboos too so it makes it easier to control.

For larger applications like to replace split rail fences I would suggest one of the timber bamboos in the Phyllostachys genus. Phyllostachys edulis or Moso Bamboo is one of the most widely used bamboos in the world for it's strength and size. It is also the most commonly eaten bamboo shoot. Moso can reach a height of 70ft but normally tops out around 40-50ft. It's canes will reach a diameter of between 4-7 inches at maturity and is hardy down to 0F. This type of timber bamboo can be used in a wide assortment of applications in farm life and fresh shoots can also be sold for extra income at farm markets.

For more information on bamboo farming and tips on planting bamboo please visit the website provided.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bamboo Farming Usa

• cousinfloyd
    Original Author
    11 years ago