Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linaria_z7_ch

Detail question about propagating from rhizomes

linaria_gw
9 years ago

Hi there
by accident I came across some rhizomes of a Phyllostachys two weeks ago. They had cleared/ bulldozed a bed where it had grown and I just plucked those from the ground.

I know it spreads like hell and just want to give it a try to grow peasticks / stakes in a container.

My question: how many nodes should a rhizome have that I want to grow on,

and can all pieces start sprouting or just those two or three where there is a nice new bud already.

I planned to stick a bit at a slight angle into a container with a soilles well draining mix.

Thanks for advice, bye, Lin

Comments (5)

• waterbug_guy
    9 years ago

I'm far from an expert but I believe all nodes/buds can grow. In theory that piece you're pointing to could grow 3, maybe 5 plants. However the more nodes on a piece of rhizome and the thicker the rhizome the more likely you'll get a good plant. Having a growing culm on a rhizome is even more reliable. More live plant = more stored energy to form new growth.

I would plant all 3 rhizome pieces into the same pot and see what happens. I'd prune new growth, maybe picking the thickest sprouts, if I got too many. Or separate pots if you prefer and toss the 2 worst pots at some point.

• stevelau1911
    9 years ago

Those pieces probably won't take.

It makes sense to take large pieces, especially with culms and a lot of the fibrous root mass so you have a lot more energy to work with. If you get little rhizomes, there's very little energy to work with, and once they run out of energy before putting out leaves, that rhizome piece will die.

It depends on the species too. There are hundreds to choose from, and I would suggest doing your research on what kind you want to try growing before planting some random rhizomes.

• linaria_gw
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hello