Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greg_r

Septic Lines and Bamboo

greg_r
18 years ago

Newbie here! I will be planting bamboo in the spring. The problem I have is the area that I would like to plant has septic field lines. I have been searching the web on this subject and some say donÂt do it the bamboo will damage the lines. Other opinions are that the bamboo will actually help by wicking excess moisture from the septic system.

I am in zone 5. The area to plant is in full sun. My thoughts at this time are to plant ARUNDINARIA gigantean. I will have about 20ft around the planting to mow so as to limit it from spreading.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments (14)

• greg_r
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the reply. I do have other areas that I could plant. The best other area is a fence line bordered by a ditch and then an asphalt road. This area is on a north-west slope and would be well drained and even dry in the hot season, with full sun. Any suggestions for either areas?

• MacDaddy
    18 years ago

If it does damage your lines you probably will not find out till you have a dense interwoven net of bamboo rhizomes over your septic field. Then just imagine the trouble, smell and insanity of finding equipment that will be able to dig through the rhizome layers without wrecking the whole septic field. Might work nice but I wouldn't take that gamble.

• Cady
    18 years ago

Depending on the soil, bamboo can have very shallow rhizomes or they can dig deep. If you have poor or wet soil way down, but add good compost near the top, the plant will focus its growth close to the surface in the good soil, and is less likely to go down below 24."

No guarantees, but that has been my experience.

• kudzu9
    18 years ago

greg-