Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovehummingbirds

What bamboo grows well in Houston?

lovehummingbirds
18 years ago

A friend asked me this question. I am no expert on bamboo. Thanks for any suggestion.

Comments (10)

• kentuck_8b
    18 years ago

There are hundreds of varieties of bamboo that will grow well in Houston.

To help narrow your selection down a bit, it would be helpful to know what they will be planting it for, such as a hedge or a single plant.

Clumping bamboo vs running bamboo is definitely something to consider. Culm colours can be green, yellow, gray, blue, black, yellow with green stripes, and the list goes on.

Leaf size varies also, and some leaves are variegated. Height of the bamboo will also help narrow down your choices. Will it be planted in the shade or in full sun?

Kt

• lovehummingbirds
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi Kt,

My friend wants bamboo with bright green culm, no thicker than 2" in diameter, no varigation in leave color. And she wants to plant quite a few in her back yard. She is from China and she misses the bamboo grove in her hometown. She said that running types were OK for her. But I wonder whether it will be hard to contain once they mature, because the growing condition sounds perfect for lots of bamboo in Houston.
    Thanks.

• kentuck_8b
    18 years ago

How tall can she have it grow?

I would recommend clumpers first, but if none suit her, then we can look into some runners.

She may be interested in Buddha's Belly Bamboo. Would she remember the variety that was growing in her hometown?

Let me know, and we will go from there.

Kt

• lovehummingbirds
    Original Author
    18 years ago

She doesn't know the variety name, but it is not Buddha's Belly Bamboo. She says it does not have to be the same kind in her hometown. Any green bamboo not taller than 9 feet and easy to grow will do.

• kentuck_8b
    18 years ago