Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growing bamboo in SC Upstate

Posted by rototiller z7-Greenville,SC (My Page) on
Thu, Feb 16, 06 at 20:00

Hi,
I have recently moved to Greenville, SC area
I was always fascinated by bamboo plants. Now, I have an opportunity to grow my own.
My question is: what are the recommended species of bamboo for Upstate SC. I was warned that some of them can spread like pest, is this true? what can be done to containe them?
I would like to grow bamboo for privacy, hedges and also for pleasure, having several different types.
What is the best source of bamboo seedlings. They grow almost everywhere here, however, mostly on private or hard to get places.
Any suggestion from experience bamboo growers would be appreciated.

thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growing bamboo in SC Upstate

I would love to know where i could dig up some bamboo in sc. I am just learning and would like to plant bamboo around my pond in charleston sc

o

• Posted by lkz5ia z5 west iowa (My Page) on
    Sat, Feb 18, 06 at 11:00

Being in zone 8 , you should be able to grow a clumper. If your pond has a liner, the running bamboo can possibly puncture it.

o

There is a limited selection of clumping bamboos that will grow in the Greenville area. They are Bambusa multiplex (in sun and half shade), and Fargesia robusta, and F. rufa (in mostly shade to full shade). Alternatively, you can root prune a running bamboo to either contain it or by using a more extensive regime, to make it assume the form of a clumping bamboo.

Bambusa multiplex
Image hosting by Photobucket

Bambusa multiplex "tiny fern"

Fargesia rufa

Fargesia robusta

Semiarundinaria fastuosa after 10 years of removing all shoots that came up away from the main "clump".

Phyllostachys nigra 'bory' maintained as a clump by root pruning

o

thanks for many valuable tips :)

What is the best way to transplant bamboo from one place to another.