Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bambookid524

Black Bamboo Propagation

bambookid524
16 years ago

i have some black bamboo in my lawn and it is about 10-15 ft. I was wondering how i could propagate it to a size where i could ship some to a friend without shipping him a whole culm.

Any answers will be much appreciated.

Thank You!

Comments (9)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    16 years ago

Last month I got a bunch of black bamboo from a friend. I got it in
    two forms: two-foot lengths of 3/4 inch thick rhizome, and large clumps
    of earth containing culms, rhizomes, and roots. To harvest the
    large clumps, the culms were sawed down to about eight inches. Then,
    the clumps were dug up by tractor.

The rhizomes were laid in a trough of loose soil in the garden, and
    a month later they are exhibiting good growth. So, I'd suggest that
    you harvest lengths of healthy rhizome, and ship the rhizome in
    soil that will keep the roots moist. I'm no expert, but it seems to
    me that the sooner your friend gets the rhizomes in the ground, the
    better his/her chance of success.

Josh

• bambookid524
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you. another question, does black bamboo have more than 1 rhizome or do all of the shoots come off of the same one because if they do in fact have only one and you clip it, wouldn't it stop the growth of the one you clipped from?

Steve

• kentuck_8b
    16 years ago

Don't worry about stopping the growth by cutting a rhizome...if this stopped the growth of bamboo, then bamboo would never have gotten such a bad reputation as a rampaging plant.

It may slow the reproduction of new culms on that particular rhizome for a while, but there are many rhizomes that branch endlessly underground.

Good Luck

Kt

• kudzu9
    16 years ago