Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winterhardygardener

Bambusa multiplex 'Thai Hedge'

Hi all! I have a question that I hope someone can help me with: is there anybody familiar with Bambusa multiplex 'Thai Hedge.' The website I found it on claims that it can reach heights of 50'. Wow! Since it's a form of Bambusa multiplex, it should show considerable winter hardiness. I've included a link to the website that lists 'Thai Hedge.' You might have to scroll down to find it. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.bambooranch.net/plantlist.php

Comments (6)

• kudzu9
    12 years ago

That site lists a lot of interesting bamboo, although they have a lot of fanciful names for some of their stuff that I've never heard elsewhere, including "Thai hedge." I'm always skeptical of maximum size claims...they usually mean the biggest that has ever been found somewhere in the world...not the typical size. I've been growing bamboo for over 10 years in a temperate climate, and the species I am growing are only about 1/2 the size Bamboo Ranch lists as the maximum. I don't know if they are claiming that "Thai hedge" is some exotic, special form of B. multiplex, or what, but the American Bamboo Society species tables list 12 varieties of B. multiplex, and none of them grow higher than 25', and none of them get bigger than 1.5" in diameter. Given that you are in the same Zone as I am, I will also caution you that B. multiplex does not do well over the long term in our climate. It may do well for several years, but then it gets whacked when there is a prolonged cold spell.

• WinterHardyGardener
    Original Author
    12 years ago