Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mschwartz26

Question on bamboo health...

mschwartz26
12 years ago

I am new to growing bamboo and hoping I can get some advise! I don�t know the names of the 2 plants in question. Each one is approximately the size of a coke can in diameter (maybe even a little larger). They are both green, single stalks that were cut to be approximately 7-8 feet tall. I purchased them along with some black bamboo from a Bamboo nursery in Southern CA. Where they were purchased is definitely warmer than my house as I am much closer to the ocean.

I don�t pictures while writing this, but can get some. I believe the guy said that one of them was called Vietnamese bamboo (but that seems very vague to me).

When I purchased the bamboo (about 6 weeks ago), the larger green stalks had a ton of leaves on them. I planted them in redwood planters that I built and they seemed to be doing well. After about 2 weeks, I decided that the planter boxes were not going to be large enough. I built much bigger ones and replanted. I had purchased soil from the grower and needed didn�t have enough for the larger boxes. I went to my local HD and spoke to someone that I really think knows what she is talking about! She recommended some potting soil that she used to grow bamboo at her house.

I replanted in the larger planters (2' x 2' x 2'). The black bamboo appears to be doing good. There is some yellowing on the leaf tips, but I think that is still from the shock (these were purchased as a 15 gallon and cut in �). Both of the black bamboo�s have a ton of new shots coming up already.

One of the larger green bamboo plant�s leaves slowly turned yellow, dried up, and now all the leaves have fallen off. The other ones lost the majority of its leaves (still holding strong with some of them) and is now actually starting to produce new leaves. The remaining leaves do not look that healthy in my opinion.

We have had some storms over the last couple of weeks with strong winds.