Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
refin

new to bamboo

refin
16 years ago

I am new to bamboo and would like to plant some this year. We have a roof terrace and everything has to be in planters. I am starting to research which bamboo to plant but I want to know if anyone could tell me when the best time to plant would be? Also, I can plant them in smaller containers (about 1 1/2 ft x 1 1/2 x 1 1/2) which would allow me to take the bamboo out and divide it if needed. Would this be a better idea than (larger) planters? It is an older roof garden so there is a watering system and some shade.

Comments (6)

• kentuck_8b
    16 years ago

What size bamboo are you looking for? Height?

Any particular coloured culms that you are looking for? Yellow, green, gray, blue, or maybe striped?

Kt

• refin
    Original Author
    16 years ago

my primary concern is that they have some chance at surviving in planters or containers. While the watering system is great and I can insulate the containers, frost is an issue (I am in 6B). I would prefer smaller plants (less than 6 foot) and evergreen. Any color would be fine as well. I had looked into bamboo a few times but really fell in love during a zoo visit near me. The zoo's grounds were covered with snow and very green bamboo. It looked wonderful. However, all the bamboo was huge (30 feet or so).

• kentuck_8b
    16 years ago

Bamboo gets a bit hardier with size and age, and it is less hardy when grown in a pot.

A tall bamboo could simply be topped to any size you want, but don't cut it until it leaves-out.

6b? What are the lowest temps that the bamboo would have to endure?

Kt

• refin
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I am in manhattan, in NYC. It freezes but rarely for long periods. Heat is more of an issue in the summer but I could put them in shade. When would be the best time to plant them and are there any types or sellers you recommend?

• User
    16 years ago